Quick Photography Editing Tips – Lightroom 5 – October 16, 2013

I want to share a quick photography editing tip.  Let me preface it by saying one of the main reasons I recommend using Lightroom (LR) is for the sole purpose of organizing your catalog. Whether you take pics with your phone, dslr, medium format, etc… I think you’re losing valuable time by not utilizing it’s potential for this task.  The other main reason is that I feel much more comfortable utilizing the photo-editing tools in the LR develop module vs. Photoshop (although I’m forcing myself to get more acclimated to PS CC after attending Photoshop World 2013 in Las Vegas).

The following images are from an engagement session for Mari and Daniel.  They’ll be tying the proverbial knot this upcoming April.  This was the last stop on our engagement session. Daniel wanted to see a boardwalk with grass on either side as well as make some pictures walking along the beach.

Here is a screen capture of two similar images side by side using the candidate mode – hot key “c” while two photos are selected.  The photos were taken under the same lighting conditions – sunny on the beach, same camera – canon 5d mk 3 with 24-105 mm, and exposure setting f/22, 1/160, ISO 250.  To the left I applied my own remix of Matt Kloskowski’s Auto Fix (I think this link is an updated post but still worthwhile nonetheless).  Next I proceeded to make a few minor adjustments with shadows and blacks under the exposure settings.  But the meat and potatoes for this picture lies in the Hue, Saturation, Luminance section (HSL).   In this section I can control the HSL of the grass, ocean, and flowers simply by adjusting the sliders to my liking.  I encourage you to do the same to bring out the most in your photographs.

How do you know if you went “overboard”?  First I think that’s a taste issue, but obviously you don’t want to push the grass to looking like it was just nuked or ready to attend a rave with Steve Aoki (who also just happened to roll through Corpus Christi, Texas last night).  Second,  I recommend picking up a Colorchecker Passport  from X-rite.  Then you can complete control of the colors in your image.   Enjoy your Wed-nes-day!

Lightroom 5 Develop Module Screen Shot 2013-10-16 at 11.55.32 AM

Lightroom 5 Develop Module Screen Shot 2013-10-16 at 11.55.32 AM

One thought on “Quick Photography Editing Tips – Lightroom 5 – October 16, 2013

  1. Thank you for e-mailing me about the commitment ceremony. We called Beth and she booked her wedding here for 2015. Looking forward to work with you again.

    Tiare Bordes “Mansion By The Sea”          2100, East Hwy 361 Port Aransas Causeway Aransas Pass, TX 78336

    http://www.mansionbythesea.com/ Tel: (361)717-2621 

Leave a Reply

