Christopher Nolan Responds to Dark Knight Rises Shooting Tragedy in Aurora, Colorado

Here is an entry for my 365 Day Project, for a day in which I’ve been looking forward to for quite some time – specifically for the Theatrical Release of The Dark Knight Rises.  However the day has been indelibly marred by a senseless violent act surrounding the screening of this particular film. How this entry was captured –  I took my phone out to take a picture of the song credits in the trailer and it was unfortunately on video mode, and so I missed my moment… nonetheless I find my entry (save a few words I say in it) eerily fitting blacked out.  A quick background:

1. I seriously debated whether to attend 11:45 AM screening today at coincidentally enough Century 16 in Corpus Christi, Texas.

2. This Century 16 shares the EXACT SAME layout as the Aurora, Colorado theater.

3. The similarities surrounding the release of this film and The Dark Knight, concerning Heath Ledger’s passing, had resoundingly strange overtones within me during both screenings.  And as I sat through today’s film I pondered…

Here is the Maurice Ravel composition titled “Pavane for Dead Princess.” *PARTIAL SPOILER ALERT-This is a very cleverly relevant piece whose title serves a precursor to a resolving plot point!

And plays in the background during the following scene:

Here’s the tie in to my 365 Project – I’ve been exploring what the concept of home is, whether it’s location, a person, an action, a love, a thought, etc… Well my friend Robert Perez, Jr of Zerep Productions mentioned that he was moved by Christopher Nolan’s response to the tragedy (from http://www.huffingtonpost.com/2012/07/20/christopher-nolan-aurora-dark-knight-rises_n_1691026.html#slide=1253842, accessed on July 20, 2012 @11:30 PM):

Speaking on behalf of the cast and crew of The Dark Knight Rises, I would like to express our profound sorrow at the senseless tragedy that has befallen the entire Aurora community. I would not presume to know anything about the victims of the shooting but that they were there last night to watch a movie. I believe movies are one of the great American art forms and the shared experience of watching a story unfold on screen is an important and joyful pastime. The movie theatre is my home, and the idea that someone would violate that innocent and hopeful place in such an unbearably savage way is devastating to me. Nothing any of us can say could ever adequately express our feelings for the innocent victims of this appalling crime, but our thoughts are with them and their families.

Nolan called the movie theatre is home.  Rob is right in thinking that thought is very resounding!  I too believe that storytelling is my home, whether it’s a shared event, a photograph, short film, or a longing glance (forgive my hopeless romanticism!), as is evident by my exploration theme titled “HOME SERIES” for my 365 Photo Project.  I’m also someone who believes in perspective – and I believe that if everyone shared more interest in discovering the human condition of others, than the world would truly be a better place – in short, to “walk a mile in their shoes.” With that said I will never realize the pain and grief of those that are affected by this tragedy, and I can only presume to sympathize with them as I too have experienced the pangs of loss, certainly not under the same circumstances.  My heart resides with those grieving tonight.

Leave a Reply

