Naomi Shihab Nye – San Antonio, Texas – 2008

I’m going old school here, and it’s for a sad reason. I recently had a hard drive crash upon recovery I’m finding images that I’ve completely forgotten, I mean COMPLETELY!  One such image was of the International Poet Naomi Shihab Nye. I had a chance to meet her at the Twig Book Shop’s reading of her poetry book titled Honeybee.

I recalled that I the image of her made it to her wikipedia page… one of the coolest moments for me as a photographer. It can be found here. Well I did a net search to find it, and the image queued up, so I clicked it and found that it was on a blog.  I contacted them detailing how excited I was that someone used it, and then asked nicely for credit.  They obliged. And now I’m sharing.  Enjoy and go pick up a poetry book of Naomi’s sometime, or sign up for ‘s email.

Here’s the image and corresponding caption.

This photograph is of International Poet Naomi Shihab Nye at a book signing. Naomi Shihab Nye and Suzanne Crowley authors of Honeybee and The Very Ordered Existence of Merilee Marvelous respectively gave a short meet and greet signing at The Twig Book Shop located at 5005 Broadway, San Antonio, TX 78209 on June 12, 2008. Naomi Nye’s Honeybee is a book of poetry for young readers, and Suzanne Crowley’s Very Ordered Existence is a novel featuring Merilee Monroe. Naomi Nye is holding a sampling of her gift of fresh picked tomatoes from a personal friend.

Leave a Reply

